Things I Learned from Running

DSC07274
Running at Schonbrunn Schloss, Vienna Austria

As always, I process through rambling discourses, so why should this be any different? I took up running on January 2, 2013 and as a full year of running comes to an end, I’ve been reflecting on things I’ve learned or comprehended in the process.

1. The biggest battle is not physical, it’s mental.

2. Changing my lifestyle required me to get pathologically pissy about putting myself first. (See #1)

3. I cannot sustain a thought (positive or negative) for long when I run. It just gets pounded out of existence.

4. Once the body becomes accustomed to regular doses of endorphins, it whines and complains without them.

5. I’m continually amazed at what I see when I run that I have missed on a hundred drives along the same route.

6. The feeling of euphoria that happens after a hard run can’t be articulated or duplicated.

7. My mind still writes cheques my body can’t cash, but in the end, my physical condition sets limits on what I can accomplish. (See #1)

8. Success is its own reward and encourages tomorrow’s effort to improve.

9. Tomorrow’s goals are the fuel of today’s effort.

10. Sometimes, it was only the awareness that others were looking to me for inspiration in their own battles that was the motivation that got me out the door or on the treadmill. (See #1)

As of today, I am at 988km for the year, aiming for 1000km by January 2, 2014. All things being equal, I think I’m going to make it. I can already feel the preliminary bubbling of an explosion of celebration.

I’ll keep you posted.

Other people writing about the same stuff…