Hmmm… equality kills passion?

Maybe I don’t get out much, but this is the first post I’ve read about the idea that long-term egalitarian relationships tend to stagnate sexually. Apparently, equality is all well and good …right up to the bedroom door. As a therapist, I’ve heard this situation referred to as “boredom,” or “familiarity” (as the author points out in the post) but neither of those concepts really addresses the actual issue.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m not advocating the caveman-drag-woman-by-the-hair dominance, but rather, I’ve learned working with couples that “powering up” in a safe, secure relationship can produce spicy, passionate, whole body engagement in sex. I believe based on couples’ reports while in therapy that generally, it doesn’t seem to matter which partner powers up and dominates. The result is the same… a passionate encounter the French call la petit mort.

…and that’s all I’m going to say about that.

More from others here,  here, and here.

Talk amongst yourselves...

