A Paradox I can’t reconcile…

I’m much more interested in engaging with a movement that begins with the assumption that men and boys are human beings, and human beings cannot be disposed of, like machinery that is no longer useful or worn down.

Janet Bloomfield writes an excellent essay on why she’s not a feminist anymore and now advocates for men’s rights. It’s worth reading, and I found myself agreeing with everything she writes… until I got to the last paragraph, (quote above). Ms. Bloomfield’s tagline reads – “I’m a pro-abortion, pro-marriage equality, anti-racism, anti-sexism, small “L” liberal, doctoral student, wife, mother and woman and I support the Men’s Rights Movement. Here’s why…

I genuinely do not understand how one can be “pro-abortion” and yet make the statement, “…human beings cannot be disposed of, like machinery that is no longer useful or worn down.”

I get that somewhere along the line, somebody in times past decided that an unborn child is not human, and Ms. Bloomfield agrees with this decision. At least I assume she must as she is pro-abortion.

If only I’d had this lovely graphic when doing my graduate assignment.

Having done some research on cloning for my first graduate degree, one of of the things that happened was that I came to the perspective that from the point of conception, a human being exists. There is nothing, other than time and a safe space that anyone adds to the process of cooking a baby. There is no additional input needed from the point of egg/sperm uniting for that zygote to develop into a human being. Yes, it is supported in its growth by the womb/woman, but she doesn’t add anything to the complex process. From my perspective, that means we have a human being – not a gamete, zygote, blob, sheep, or evolutionary lizard. And humans, according to Ms Bloomfield, are not disposable.

Don’t misunderstand me.  I, of all people, know this is a complex issue which encompasses far more than just a philosophical discussion about when life begins. I’m a psychologist – I’ve had all sides of the story – the babies born of rape; the teen moms; the agony of infertile women/couples; the unexpectedly (or not) profoundly disabled babies; the botched abortions; the backstreet abortions; the abortions-as-birth-control; abortion guilt – there’s hardly enough ink in the world to cover the heartache I’ve seen and heard around this issue. And it’s the same for BOTH sides; whether one has chosen an abortion or decided against it, there is a maelstrom of emotions in the aftermath of that decision (totally contrary to Emily Letts’ assertion that abortion is no big deal. And speaking of paradoxes, how about this one from Miss Letts herself? ‘I feel in awe of the fact that I can make a baby. I can make a life, I just want to tell my story,’ she concludes.)

I’m really just processing here – Ms Bloomfield is definitely not alone in her position, but I was quite surprised at my own internal response in reading her essay (which, again, I think is exceptional) and stumbling over that last paragraph. I agree – boys/men are not disposable.

Actually,  I believe human beings are not disposable, no matter how inconvenient the fact of their existence may be.

2 thoughts on “A Paradox I can’t reconcile…

    1. Thank you, mommyx4boys. There is no way to properly express the dismay many //millions// of people feel at the vilification of men in general based on the acts of relatively few. Someone tweeted the other day, “Those who will not distinguish between “man” and “men” are dangerous.”

      Individuals perpetrate evil and this is a human propensity, and not gender-based.

Talk amongst yourselves...

